Protected sites

What are protected sites?

These are sites that are protected under UK law. The Bannau Brycheiniog National Park is one such designation but smaller areas within the National Park can have one or more further designations, designed to protect special geology or wildlife. More information on Wales’ special landscapes is available from Natural Resources Wales.

Protected (or designated) sites include:

There is also a list of habitats that have been identified as being of principal importance for the conservation of biodiversity in Wales – known as the Section 7 List.

Non-Statutory Sites  

A number of non-statutory sites are also located within the Bannau Bryncheiniog National Park, these include: 

  • Sites of Importance for Nature Conservation (SINCs) 
  • Local Wildlife Sites (LWSs)  
  • Regionally Important Geodiversity Sites (RIGS)