National Park Authority elects new Chair

The Annual General Meeting (AGM) of Bannau Brycheiniog National Park Authority took place on Monday 30th July at the Authority Head Offices in Brecon.  Mr. Ed Evans, a Welsh Government appointed member was unanimously voted in as the new Chair of the Authority and Councillor Gareth Ratcliffe as Deputy Chair.

There were other key appointments made at the meeting including Mr. Julian Stedman being newly elected as Chair of Planning, Access and Rights of Way (PAROW) and Councillor Edwin Roderick as Deputy Chair.

Addressing Members, the newly elected Chair of Bannau Brycheiniog National Park Authority, Ed Evans said;

“I would like to thank you all for your received support and look forward to us working together over the next twelve months.  My future priorities, working with all our members, will be to support our Chief Executive, Julian Atkins, in delivering a new organisational structure fit for the future including supporting governance arrangements and the implementation of our new Policy Forum.

We also received positive news from the Minister for Environment, Hannah Blythyn on her visit to the Park last week regarding our funding but we will continue to use our budget as efficiently as possible.  There are challenging times ahead and we will engage and support our communities especially as we approach the post Brexit period.”

Councillor Ann Webb will resume her role as Chair of Audit and Scrutiny, with Ian Rowat as her Deputy.  Deborah Perkin will resume the position of Chair for the Sustainable Development Fund committee with Councillor Karen Laurie-Parry as her Deputy.

The new Policy Forum will be chaired by Councillor Emily Durrant with Councillor Graham Thomas as her Deputy.

Julian Atkins, CEO of Bannau Brycheiniog National Park Authority stated;

“I would like to congratulate all of the Members who have been elected to new posts and also to those who are resuming posts.  These are changing times for Bannau Brycheiniog National Park Authority and I look forward to working together over the next twelve months to ensure our National Park remains valued and resilient.”

– ENDS –